African Elephant Action Plan

In 2007, at the 14th meeting of the Conference of the Parties to CITES, all African countries with elephant populations were instructed to develop an African Elephant Action Plan (AEAP). This was in recognition of the fact that Africa’s elephants were facing multiple and serious threats and required co-ordinated and immediate action in order to provide effective protection to remaining elephant populations.

The AEAP was completed in 2010 and adopted by all 38 African elephant range States. It identifies a series of prioritised objectives, with clear strategies and activities associated with each one. Objective 1 (the top priority) is to "reduce illegal killing of elephants and illegal trade in elephant products". 

The AEAP represents and seeks to address the real ‘situation on the ground’ in terms of what actions must be implemented and most urgently require funding if Africa’s elephants are to be protected throughout their range. The African Elephant Fund was also established as the means to fund these actions with governments, organisations and individuals called upon to make significant donations so that effective implementation of the Action Plan can take place.

The 38* African elephant range States and authors of the Plan are: Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Republic of Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mali, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, Republic of South Sudan, Republic of the Sudan, Swaziland, United Republic of Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

* The number of range States has increased from 37 through the creation of the Republic of South Sudan in 2011. 

Download the full African Elephant Action Plan (pdf 338KB).
Share |

Copyright © 2018 Born Free Foundation - Charity no. 1070906.

Site Skylark, design Jo Glover