National Ivory Action Plans Submitted

As was agreed at the 64th CITES Standing Committee in March 2013, national ivory action plans have now been formulated and submitted to the CITES Secretariat by eight countries.

China, Kenya, Malaysia, the Philippines, Thailand, Uganda,Tanzania and Vietnam have been assessed to be heavily implicated in the illegal trade of ivory as source, transit or destination countries for illegal ivory, and were charged to put in place the urgent measures necessary to reverse their role in the illegal trade.

The implementation of these action plans will be monitored and assessed by the CITES Secretariat, who will report on their implementation and make any further recommendations at the next Standing Committee meeting in July 2014.

Read more here

« back to Latest News

Share |

Copyright © 2018 Born Free Foundation - Charity no. 1070906.

Site Skylark, design Jo Glover